Top books to read if you like awesome Graphic Novels with strong female characters

Todays TTT, Ten Books To Read If You Like These Popular Books/Authors….emmm, well…I…

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

 

Your know what, I can’t come up with one clever idea on todays TTT, so let do a spin on it instead. I have a pile of unread graphic novels beside my and why not list some of my all time favorites.

Top books to read if you like awesome Graphic Novels with strong female characters

Lazarus   Pretty Deadly   Rat Queens

Lazarus by Greg Rucka, Michael Lark (Artist)
Dystopian.
Greg Rucka presents to us with a dark and broken world, there is hardly anything that is light or positive. This is a violent and brutal story and it’s one amazing series. Love it!

Pretty Deadly by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Emma Ríos (Illustrator)
Fantasy inspired western.
This one made me think of days gone by, comics of old, it feel like Gaimans Sandman, like western and strangely with just a hint of Alice in wonderland. Lovely, Beautiful, Magical, Whimsical, Bizarre and surprising story!

Rat Queens by Kurtis J. Wiebe, Roc Upchurch (Illustrator)
Classic fantasy
You just cant list graphic novel with strong female characters without mentioning Rat Queens! a sort of Dungeons & Dragon story, but with a twist! Read it!
It’s fun, quirky, hilarious and sassy!

saga   Revival   Coffin Hill

Saga by Brian K. Vaughan, Fiona Staples (Artist)
Science-fiction
An Romeo and Juliette sort of story, about a couple on the run from a war, just trying live their life and start a family.
This is Space Opera, Science Fiction and Fantasy, all wrapped up in a chaotic package! It’s beautiful, it’s bizarre and I just love it!

Revival by Tim Seeley, Mike Norton (Illustrator) and Mark Englert (Illustrator)
Supernatural
In a small rural community the dead are coming back alive, are they as they were (before they died), are they dangerous, is it some kind of outbreak, an invasion? Amazing artwork and a interesting story that keeps on evolving. Great fun!

Coffin Hill by Caitlin Kittredge, Iñaki Miranda (Illustrations)
Supernatural/ Horror

Sex, drugs, witchcraft, serial killings, revenge and old evil that never really went to sleep, an clever graphic novel that challenge you as a reader, one of my favorite at the moment. And the art is just stunning!

Ms Marvel

Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson, Adrian Alphona (Artist)
Superhero
Well, I dont think this one need some introduction, a new Marvel super hero in a totally different package.

Above are some, in my opinion, of the best graphic novels that are produced today. But I think I’ll have to include some older one as well.

Death The High Cost of Living   The women trap   modesty blaise

Death by Neil Gaiman
Urban Fantasy
What would a list of great female character be without our favorite goth reaper. As always when it comes from Gaiman its just brilliant!
One of my favorite short stories of Death is still The sound of her wings from Sandman: Prelude & Nocturnes. Classic comics at its best!

The Woman Trap by Enki Bilal
Science fiction/ dystopian (sort of)
This is an odd one, but I just had to include it.
Its old school french comic, but ever so beautiful, set i Europe in an alternative future. There is space travels, Egyptian gods, a mysterious women with blue hair (and blue tears), its strange, bizarre with that flair of how the 80s looked upon the future. And yes they made a movie out if this story.

Modesty Blaise by Peter O’Donnell
Modesty Blaise was my first superhero, I know there are a lot of problem with O’Donnells work if you look at it with modern eyes, but for me was she a role model (of sorts) when I needed one, so I think I’ll end this list with her, without getting in to how and why, this time 🙂

 

There you have it, my top ten best graphic novels with some cool, kick-ass, swash-buckling, awesome female characters in it!

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Comics, Graphic Novels, Listor & Enkäter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s